It was a May morning when Mama Cat said her goodbyes. It was sunny, but I strongly felt the physical presence of death. I couldn’t see him, but he was there with us, waiting. Mama Cat, Carmen and Ollie knew it as well. I felt a shiver, in spite of the sun. 

Our dog Carmen and I had walked to the barn to put the horses out. Mama laid in the sun in the driveway near the barn entrance. Ollie, our other barn cat was nosing up to her and he and Mama were nuzzling each other, something I’d never seen them do. Carmen didn’t chase her like he usually did. Although we walked up within three or four feet, Mama didn’t run and Carmen didn’t chase. They just sat there looking at each other, something I’d also never seen before. That’s when I knew.

Actually, I believe Mama, Ollie and Carmen knew the score before I did.  That’s why they were all acting so strange, which is what made me pick up on death’s presence.

I sat in the driveway by Mama and petted her. Carmen and Ollie just stood there looking at us. I picked her up, put her in my lap and felt her body for any injuries or wounds. I couldn’t find any. I rolled Mama on her back and rubbed her belly. She purred a bit.  I turned her back over and rubbed her back. After a couple of minutes, she climbed out of my lap and lay back on the driveway looking at me. 

Maybe something was wrong with her, or maybe it was just her time. I thought she’d gradually gone downhill in the last couple of weeks. And then one day she just looked “old”. Not bad, but old. She’d lost a bit of weight and moved slower. She wasn’t as interested in her breakfast, whereas before, she always ate as if starving. Old age creeps up on all of us I guess. 

That morning, I decided we needed to take her to the vet and see if something was wrong with her, or if it was time to put her down. I decided I would put the cat food out in the barn, take the horses out and then come back and get Mama while she was eating breakfast. 

As Carmen and I led the second horse out, I saw Ollie-Cat walk slowly by on the other side of the fence and I thought to myself, “OK, time to get Mama.”  I went back through the barn and … she was gone. Not in the driveway basking in the sun, not by her food, not anywhere in the barn. I looked across our yard and our neighbor’s field and she was nowhere in sight.  I called, but there was no answering meow.  

I shivered again and felt a tear fall from one of my eyes.  I didn’t know for sure, but felt I would never see her again. 

She didn’t come for dinner that night and neither Cath or I saw her after that. Not the next day, or the day after, or over a week later. 

I suppose a wild animal could have killed her, but I don’t think that’s what happened. I think she knew it was her time. I’d like to think she found a favorite spot in the woods, or fields, or by the pond and was lying there peacefully when death came to her and whispered softly, “It’s time old girl. It’s time to cross the bridge Mama Cat.” 

Mama Cat, a Little Over a Year Ago.

Goodbye Mama Cat. We were lucky to have you in our life.

Addendum:

⁃ I wrote one previous blog about Mama Cat. You can read it here – We inherited Mama Cat about four years ago. Our neighbor had to move to a small apartment and had two other cats she was taking with her, but couldn’t take three. Mama roamed the neighborhood at will and was a frequent overnight guest at our barn, so Cathy said we’d look out for her […] Continue here: https://mnhallblog.wordpress.com/2023/10/03/mama-cat/

5 thoughts on “Goodbye Mama Cat

  1. This brought me to tears. So sweet and sad. We had a cat Klaus Claws who did the same thing when we lived in Vienna VA. A friend told me once after the winter in the spring that she found a skeleton of her cat curled up in a favorite spot. I think they do know. Sorry for your loss of Mama Cat. I hope another pal for Ollie finds you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Animals seem to have an instinct – a strong urge to go off someplace when they die. Maybe it is a protective device – protecting others from disease, or protecting a home base from having an unburied body lying around. When I lived in Ottawa, our dog Holly became very sickly and thin, and we started keeping her inside. One evening, she was whining by the door – I thought she just had to go out to do her business, but when she got outside, she took off running. I couldn’t find her anywhere. The next morning, when I woke up, I saw her lying outside about 20 feet from her dog house.

    Mama Cat had a good life on Rohan Farm – it was nice that she could spend her last years in a little slice of heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment